Still alive, but groupless

We’re still alive, but in the last 15 – 20 days or so we never managed to find a group again. Adelah once grouped with somebody, but only for twenty minutes.

I’m finding it hard to reserve the 1 – 2 hours of time it takes in one stretch to accomplish something. I can see now how people might want to solo for half an hour when no groups are around. I remember the EverQuest times, when not finding a group in the first few minutes after logon meant the evening was ruined. I used to spend my hours LFG and reading a book next to it — I read each and every one of Terry Pratchett’s novels solely while LFG as a mage in pre-Velious EQ, where mages weren’t very well-liked.

Now those memories are coming back, the bits that made EQ (and now SoD) an unhappy place. Where grouping and running a dungeon together is great, looking for groups and staring at a zone entrance is not.

I don’t want to dual box just to remedy this, because that would mean that I spend more time with my other machine than with Ayba or with the other players. Oric doesn’t have nearly enough cash to take up a tradeskill, so that route to exp and fame is blocked as well. We’ll see where this goes.

4 thoughts on “Still alive, but groupless”

  1. I assume you might be trying this, but it’s usually a lot easier to form a group than to find one on SoD – you have two characters, pick a place and start sending tells to people your level asking them to come.

  2. “/who all 20” can be your friend, it will show you players of that level that are on line.

    Also, think about posting a date, time and where you would like to group here. Quite a few people read this. It would be more like a scheduled raid time, and people seem to respond to that. I have a 25 Wiz (Yoli) and a 25 Pal (Clik) that would try to make it if I knew when i should set some time aside…
    Just some random thoughts.

  3. @David: Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ I usually do a /who all 20 30 to see who’s on. The /who command, the single EQ command I remember best. I did a /who and /who all the very first time I logged on to SoD, all out of muscle memory, just because I remembered that ritual from the Live days ๐Ÿ™‚

    The list can be deceiving though, because some people play their mains or some other out-of-range character. Anyway, it’s a good suggestion. Also, thanks Wiz, that one’s good too.

    I’ll be trying *all three* methods in the next few days ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

