A question of character (improvement)

ss-20090414-210813_you_have_become_better

People say that in SoD, character improvement comes very slowly. My ranger Oric has killed 233 enemies of varying strength. Furry beasts, large insects with tough carapaces, gnolls,Β  skeletons, the works. He thinks he’s an experienced and responsible sword user. Yet when he swings his little blade, he misses more than 50% of the time. I estimate that my blows connect perhaps 30 or 40% of the time, and when they connect, most hits don’t do nearly full damage. Pitifully I chip at the enemy’s kneecap, tearing off a single hit point a minute.

A few days ago, when we has level 2, Oric hit even less. Perhaps 20% of the hits connected, and maybe 10% of those did more than mininmum damage (1 or 2 hit points).

So is this rate of improvement slow, unfair? It’s a tough question to ask, because an MMO developer has to put some mechanics into the game that give players a sense of progress. One such mechanic is the rate of improvement of character skills. It wouldn’t be satisfying if a widdle level 1 ranger would hit on every try. There wouldn’t be much room for improvement. The end of the path would already be reached before the journey even started. If by the time you hit level 10 only your choice of weapon makes any difference in your damage output, any sense of progress disappears.

I don’t know enough about SoD’s melee mechanics to have a reliable gut feeling for this, but I believe the pace of character improvement is an important mechanic and that the speed at which SoD works is very satisfying for me as a player. At least with my lowbies.

What do you guys say, especially those with high-level melee characters? Does the sense of progress disappear at some point or are you happy?

4 thoughts on “A question of character (improvement)”

  1. My highest is a 64 paladin without any signifigant AAs. I can tell you that even at such a high level, I still feel there is a lot of room for growth. I think my chance to hit, my damage, and my overall efficiency in combat is much better than when I was a youngling, but I am far from a master at the sword without many of the AAs. Something to constantly strive for makes you want to constantly play. πŸ™‚

  2. Aww, that gives me a depression πŸ™‚

    It’s probably just because we had a rough time in Blackburrow last night, but somehow I feel a bit like my ranger is useless and a pushover. I did hope to feel a bit more useful BEFORE having 10 million AA points!

    But if you say that it makes you want to play, that means that the dangling AA exp carrot in front of our noses is there for all the right reasons πŸ˜‰

  3. There is always room to progress whether it be gear, aa’s, or farming, don’t worry your skills will come in due time.

    P.S Keep up the good work, loving this read! πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks Grej πŸ™‚ I think as long as the progress still feels like fun, even after months, things are fine and the developers can be proud of their achievement. If everything feels like a chore, there’s something wrong.

    I felt quite frustrated in WoW because of this — kill five of monster type X, then eight of type Y. I found that more boring than even a straight level grind πŸ˜› So I’m looking forward to SoD’s midlevel content to see how it compares πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

